2008 OBPC Endorsements Oregon Primary Election, May 20, 2008

On April 18-20, 2008, the Oregon Black Political Convention (OBPC) met at the Embassy Suites Hotel Portland-Washington Square, 9000 SW Washington Square Road, Tigard, Oregon 97223, and endorsed federal, state and local candidates running for public office in the May 20, 2008 Oregon Primary Election. To receive the OBPC endorsement for the Primary Election, each candidate must receive three-fifth of the votes of the delegates eligible to vote during the endorsement process. The Convention tries to endorse the best major political party candidate for each partisan office. On April 19, 2008, Candidates addressed the Convention. On April 20, 2008, the following partisan and non-partisan candidates were endorsed by the 2008 OBPC.

OBPC ENDORSEMENTS	PARTY	CANDIDATE
United States President	Democrat	Barack Obama
State Treasurer	Democrat	Ben Westlund
Attorney General	Democrat	Greg Macpherson
State Senator, 22nd District	Democrat	Margaret Carter
State Senator, 23rd District	Democrat	Jackie Dingfelder
State Representative, 7th District	Democrat	Donald Nordin
State Representative, 8th District	Democrat	Paul R. Holvey
State Representative, 9th District	Democrat	Arnie Roblan
State Representative, 10th District	Democrat	Jean Cowan
State Representative, 11th District	Democrat	Phil Barnhart
State Representative, 12th District	Democrat	Elizabeth Terry Beyer
State Representative, 13th District	Democrat	Nancy Nathanson
State Representative, 14th District	Democrat	Chris Edwards
State Representative, 16th District	Democrat	Sara A. Gelser
State Representative, 31st District	Democrat	Brad Witt
State Representative, 33rd District	Democrat	Mitch Greenlick
State Representative, 35th District	Democrat	Larry Galizio
State Representative, 43rd District	Democrat	Chip Shields
State Representative, 44th District	Democrat	Tina Kotek
State Representative, 45th District	Democrat	Cyreena Boston
State Representative, 49th District	Democrat	Nick Kahl
Benton County Commissioner, P2	Democrat	Jay Dixon
Benton County Commissioner, P3	Democrat	Annabelle Jaramillo
Clackamas County Commissioner, P4	Non-partisan	David Mowry
Clackamas County Commissioner, P5	Non-partisan	Kami Kehoe
Lane County Commissioner-N, P4	Non-partisan	Bobby Green, Sr
Multnomah County Commissioner District #1	Non-partisan	Deborah Kafoury
Multnomah County Commissioner District #4	Non-partisan	Carla Piluso
METRO Councilor District 3	Non-partisan	Carl Hosticka
METRO Councilor District	Non-partisan	Rex Burkholder
Mayor Of Portland	Non-partisan	Sho Dozono
City of Portland, Commissioner #1	Non-partisan	Mike Fahey
City of Portland, Commissioner #2	Non-partisan	Nick Fish
City of Portland, Commissioner #4	Non-partisan	Randy Leonard